New York’s Sick Time Law- What You Need to Know and Do
New York State’s Paid Sick Leave law (also referred to as “sick and safe time”) is now in effect. All employers with employees in New York must begin to provide their employees time off for sick and safe time purposes. The amount of time and whether or not it is paid or unpaid depends on the number of employees a company has as well as, for small companies, the previous year’s net income.
As of September 30, 2020, employees were to begin accruing sick time at a rate of 1 hour for every 30 hours worked. They can begin using this time for any covered reason as of January 1, 2021.
While your current paid time off policies may be sufficient, they must meet all the requirements of the new sick and safe time such as accrual rate, availability for usage, permitted reasons, notice and documentation requirements, and carry-over allowance.
The New York Sick Leave law allows employers to make some variations such as front-loading the allotment and setting a maximum annual usage.
New York law requires all employers to provide employees with written notice of all paid time off policies such as vacation, holiday, and sick time prior to going into effect. Therefore, employers should provide employees with a written policy laying out all the information they need to know.
Offers for Big I NY members:
Our HR partner, Affinity HR Group
, has several ways to help our members stay compliant with this new law.
General New York Sick Leave policy template - $70
Customized New York Sick Leave policy - $90
One-time offer: 10% off Big I NY-discounted rates for any handbook revision or handbook development project. Offer valid through December 15, 2020.