Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
None

Local Associations

Button

Local Associations


Watch last year's video here.

We began as a group of local independent insurance agents working together. 'Local' will always be at the core of our association. 

Just as we champion independent insurance agents in all we do and provide the resources they need to be their best across the state, our local associations (aka 'local/s') are doing the same with their communities of agents.  

Built with teams of engaged and passionate volunteers, these groups band together to tackle industry issues, meet with fellow agents, hold educational sessions, conduct legislative activities, and sponsor fun events and fundraising activities.

We encourage you to connect with your local and become a part of the fabulous things they are creating.

kathleen.lawler.jpg
Kathleen Lawler, AAI, CIC
AVP Communities & Relationships
klawler@biginy.org 
800.962.7950 EXT: 218



Resource Page

Your source for ideas, templates, meeting summaries, and more!

Media Relations Center

We want to help you develop relationships with your local media outlets so they turn to you for stories with an insurance aspect.

Find an Upcoming Event

Curious how you can interact with your local association? Try attending an event!

Want to Join?

Get involved by contacting the leader of your local association, or by emailing Kathy Lawler!


 

Find your local association below:

We've organized our NYS locals into 3 separate regions: East-North, Metropolitan-Suburban, and West-Central.
Click on your region below  to find your nearest local!

 

Independent Insurance Agents Association of Orange County, Inc.​

President: Doug Hutchings
Hutchings Agency, Middletown
p: 845.343.2148
e: doug@hutchingsinsurance.com 




Independent Insurance Agents of the Capital Region

President: Katie Mallia
Sykes-Mallia Associates Inc., Schenectady
p: 518.393.3618
e: kmallia@sykes-mallia.com​​​

big i suffolk

President: David H. Borg, CIC
Borg & Borg, Inc.
148 E Main St Ste 106
Huntington, NY 11743-2909
p: 631-673-7600
e: dhborg@borgborg.com

 

Executive Director: Jeanne Abatelli

IIABSC
150 Dartmouth Drive 
Hicksville, NY 11801 
p: 516-681-6265
e: jeanneabatelli@bigisuffolk.org

 

Jim Cotgreave
p: 631-820-8326
e: jcotgreave@get-insured.com

Steve Testa
p: 631-651-8433
e: stesta@testabrothers.net




Big I Tri-County

President: Andrew Chong
ARC Underwriting Partners
73 Cuttermill Rd
Great Neck, NY 11021-3153
p: 516-726-1500
e: andrew.chong@arcunderwriting.com

 

Executive Director: Patricia Calvert
Tri-County IIAA
PO Box 316
Albertson, NY 11507-0316
p: 516-621-2209
e: calvertpc@aol.com

 

Chris Wukovits
p: 516-877-5207
e: cwukovits@aaanortheast.com




Independent Insurance Agents of Rockland County

President: Ron Longueira
BNC Insurance Agency
90 S. Ridge St.
Rye Brook, NY 10573
p: 914-937-1230
e: rlongueira@bncagency.com




Big i westchester​

President: Christopher McEvily, CPCU
Keevily Spero Whitelaw, Inc.
500 Mamaroneck Ave. Suite 404
Harrison, NY 10528
p: 914-412-0586
e: cmcevily@keevily.com

Executive Director: Susan Barros
IIA of Westchester County Inc. C/o Susan Barros, The Beaumont Group
465 Shirley Ln
Brick, NJ 08723-8047
p: 914-948-3331 
e: scb@thebeaumontgroup.com

 

Rob Homer
p: 914-250-2081
e: rhomer@homerinsurance.com

​​​BIG I WESTERN NEW YORK

Board meets before/following monthly membership meetings​

President: Kathleen Rapasadi
The Evans Agency, LLC
1 Grimsby Dr. Ste 200
Hamburg, NY 14075
p: 716.926.8638
e: krapasadi@evansagencyins.com


Executive Secretary: Jeanne Hellert
4003 North Freeman Road
Orchard Park, NY  14127
e: iiaawny@gmail.com

 

LegislativeLiaisons.jpg Doug Benz

p: 716.332.1570
e: dbenz@newbuffaloinsurance.com​


Matthew Saxe
p: 716.651.4263
e: msaxe@mandtinsurance.com​​




Big i greater rochester​

Board meets 2nd Tuesday of every month @ 12:00 p.m. at Cerame's in Winton Plaza, Rochester


President: Andre Valente
Brown & Brown of NY Inc (Rochester)
45 East Ave Ste 1
Rochester, NY 14604
p: 585-232-4424
e: andre.valente@bbrochester.com

​Executive Director: Diana Barlow
IIAMC Office
54 Woodline Drive
Penfield, NY 14526
p: 585-260-6663
e: iiamc@rochester.rr.com


Cheryl Darling

p: 585-473-8000
e: cheryld@paris-​kirwan.com


Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of Greater Binghamton Inc.

Board meets 2nd Wednesday of every month @ 8:30 a.m.


President: Siobhan Davey
Broome County Co-Operative Insurance
1923 Vestal Pkwy E
Vestal, NY 13850
p: 607-324-2655
e: sdavey@bcicny.com​


Tim Cappellett

p: 800-822-3747
e: tcappellett@mcneilandcompany.com




Big I Central New York​

Board meets 2nd Wednesday of every month @ 8:00 a.m. at the Big I New York office

 

President: Michael Crowley
Crowley Insurance Agency Inc.
202 N Center St, East Syracuse NY 13057
p: 315-437-2983
e: mike@crowleyinsurance.com

 

Nick Masterpole
p: 315.473.9622 x13
e: nick@masterpolemurphy.com