Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
None

Local Associations

Button

Local Associations


Watch last year's video here.

We began as a group of local independent insurance agents working together. 'Local' will always be at the core of our association. 

Just as we champion independent insurance agents in all we do and provide the resources they need to be their best across the state, our local associations (aka 'local/s') are doing the same with their communities of agents.  

Built with teams of engaged and passionate volunteers, these groups band together to tackle industry issues, meet with fellow agents, hold educational sessions, conduct legislative activities, and sponsor fun events and fundraising activities.

We encourage you to connect with your local and become a part of the fabulous things they are creating.

kathleen.lawler.jpg
Kathleen Lawler, AAI, CIC
AVP Communities & Relationships
klawler@biginy.org 
800.962.7950 EXT: 218



Resource Page

Your source for ideas, templates, meeting summaries, and more!

Media Relations Center

We want to help you develop relationships with your local media outlets so they turn to you for stories with an insurance aspect.

Find an Upcoming Event

Curious how you can interact with your local association? Try attending an event!

Want to Join?

Get involved by contacting the leader of your local association, or by emailing Kathy Lawler!


 

Find your local association below:

We've organized our NYS locals into 3 separate regions: East-North, Metropolitan-Suburban, and West-Central.
Click on your region below  to find your nearest local!

 

Independent Insurance Agents Association of Orange County, Inc.

President: Doug Hutchings
Hutchings Agency, Middletown
p: 845.343.2148
e: doug@hutchingsinsurance.com 




Independent Insurance Agents of the Capital Region

President: Katie Mallia
Sykes-Mallia Associates Inc., Schenectady
p: 518.393.3618
e: kmallia@sykes-mallia.com

big i suffolk

President: Steve Testa
Cotgreave Insurance Agency, Inc.
558 Portion Road
Ronkonkoma, NY 11779
p: 631-981-5400
e: stesta@get-insured.com

 

Executive Director: Jeanne Abatelli
IIABSC
150 Dartmouth Drive 
Hicksville, NY 11801 
p: 516-681-6265
e: jeanneabatelli@bigisuffolk.org

 

Legislative Liaison: Jim Cotgreave
p: 631-820-8326
e: jcotgreave@get-insured.com

Legislative Liaison: Steve Testa
p: 631-651-8433
e: stesta@testabrothers.net



Big I Tri-County

President: Chris Dritsas
Advantage Partners, Inc.
3719 Broadway, Ste 2
Astoria, NY 11103
p: 866-443-8859
e: chrisd@apagents.com

 

Executive Director: Kathy Lawler
c/o Big I NY
5784 Widewaters Pkwy, 1st Floor
Dewitt, NY 13214
p: 315-432-4218
e: klawler@biginy.org




Independent Insurance Agents of Rockland County

President: Ron Longueira
BNC Insurance Agency
90 S. Ridge St.
Rye Brook, NY 10573
p: 914-937-1230
e: rlongueira@bncagency.com




Big i westchester

President: Christopher McEvily, CPCU
Keevily Spero Whitelaw, Inc.
500 Mamaroneck Ave. Suite 404
Harrison, NY 10528
p: 914-412-0586
e: cmcevily@keevily.com

Executive Director: Susan Barros
IIA of Westchester County Inc. C/o Susan Barros, The Beaumont Group
465 Shirley Ln
Brick, NJ 08723-8047
p: 914-948-3331 
e: scb@thebeaumontgroup.com

Legislative Liaison: Rob Homer
p: 914-250-2081
e: rhomer@homerinsurance.com

BIG I WESTERN NEW YORK

Board meets before/following monthly membership meetings

President: Rob Glenn
Lawley Insurance, Inc.
361 Delaware Ave.
Buffalo, NY 14202
p: 716.849.8618
e: rglenn@lawleyinsurance.com


Executive Secretary: Jeanne Hellert
4003 North Freeman Road
Orchard Park, NY  14127
e: iiaawny@gmail.com

 

Legislative Liaison: Doug Benz
p: 716.332.1570
e: dbenz@newbuffaloinsurance.com


Legislative Liaison: Matthew Saxe
p: 716.651.4263
e: msaxe@mandtinsurance.com




Big i greater rochester

Board meets 2nd Tuesday of every month @ 12:00 p.m. at Cerame's in Winton Plaza, Rochester


President: Jake Sanabria
Brown & Brown of NY Inc (Rochester)
45 East Ave Ste 1
Rochester, NY 14604
p: 585-232-4424
e: jacob.sanabria@bbrochester.com


Executive Director: Diana Barlow

IIAMC Office
54 Woodline Drive
Penfield, NY 14526
p: 585-260-6663
e: iiamc@rochester.rr.com

Legislative Liaison: Cheryl Darling

p: 585-473-8000
e: cheryld@paris-kirwan.com


 

Big I Southern Tier

Board meets 2nd Wednesday of every month @ 8:30 a.m.


President: Jared O'Neill
NBT Insurance Agency, LLC
66 Broad Street
Norwich, NY 13815
p: 800-965-6264
e: jared.oneill@nbtinsurance.com


Legislative Liaison: Tim Cappellett

p: 800-822-3747
e: tcappellett@mcneilandcompany.com




Big I Central New York

Board meets 2nd Wednesday of every month @ 8:00 a.m. at the Big I New York office

 

President: Jim Poindexter 
OVIA Insurance Agencies
9643 Brewerton Road,
Brewerton, NY 13209
p: 315-598-4278
e: jpoindexter@getovia.com

 

Legislative Liaison: Nick Masterpole
p: 315.473.9622 x13
e: nick@masterpolemurphy.com